Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

Florida Tennis Briefs: ITF Seniors World Team Preview; Sarasota Open

January 17, 2012 09:21 PM
4 Florida Players to Represent U.S. at ITF Seniors World Team Championships

Tabares, Mario
Mario Tabares
Riddell, Trish
Trish Riddell
Nichols, Carolyn-1
Carolyn Nichols
Dailey, Mary
Mary Dailey
Four of the 40 players who will represent the United States at the 32nd ITF Seniors World Team Championships in San Diego County are from Florida. They will join the other top American men and women tennis players in age divisions 35-55 to compete Feb. 6-11, 2012, in Carlsbad, Rancho Santa Fe, La Jolla and San Diego, Calif.    

The ITF Seniors/Super-Seniors World Team Championships is the most coveted team event on the ITF Seniors circuit. Since its inception in 1981, the number of competitors attracted to this event has increased year by year. In 1993, the ITF took the decision to divide the Seniors World Championships into two groups -- Seniors (35-55) and Super-Seniors (60-80 for men and 60-75 for women).

The Florida players representing the U.S. are: Mario Tabares, Miami; Trish Riddell, Lakeland; Mary Dailey, Delray Beach; and Carolyn Nichols, Fort Lauderdale and Rancho Santa Fe, Calif.

Tabares, who has been named as the No. 1 player and playing captain for the Dubler Cup team, is the top player in the U.S. in men's 45 singles and doubles. He won a coveted "Gold Slam" in 2011 in singles, winning the clay, hard, grass and indoor national singles titles. In 2010 he won the ITF world 40 singles title in San Luis Potosi, Mexico, and the 35 doubles title there with his brother. Tabares was named the 2011 USTA Florida Player of the Year. His teammates are Andrew Stoner, Cave Creek, Ariz.; Curtis Dunn, San Francisco, Calif.; and Rick Leach, Newport Beach, Calif.. The Dubler Cup was not completed in 2011 due to the earthquake in Christchurch, New Zealand, which heavily damaged the tennis center. In 2010 the U.S. finished third in the Dubler Cup in Mexico City.

Riddell has been chosen to be the playing captain for the Lenglen Cup team. She won the 35 grass singles and doubles and 40 grass doubles in 2011. She was a finalist in doubles at the 40 clay and 30 clay national events. She will be joined by Patricia Zerdan, Dallas, Tex.; Kelly Wilson, Cameron Park, Calif.; and Carolina Blouin, Raleigh, N.C. It's a true "melting pot" team since Riddell is a South African native; Zerdan a native of Argentina; and Blouin hails from Brazil. The U.S. finished fourth in the Lenglen Cup in 2011 in Timaru, New Zealand.

Dailey has been selected to play on the Bueno Cup team. Dailey won a Gold Slam in 2011 in 35 doubles at the age of 49. Despite undergoing knee surgery mid-year she compiled an impressive list of accomplishments: winning the 35 clay, grass, hard and indoor doubles with different partners along with the 45 grass and indoor doubles titles. She was a finalist at the 45 hard and 30 clay in doubles. Her teammates will be Fran Chandler, Jackson, Tenn. (playing captain); Tracy Houk, Half Moon Bay, Calif.; and Tina Karwasky, Glendale, Calif. The U.S. won the Bueno Cup in 2011 in Asburton, New Zealand.

Nichols will be the playing captain for the Maureen Connolly Cup team. The event will take place at Connolly's old stomping grounds at Morley Field in San Diego. She won the 55 singles and doubles at the clay and was a finalist in 55 singles and doubles at the hardcourts. In international competition, she won three titles including the European singles and doubles titles in the 55s. She is ranked No. 2 in the U.S. and in the world in 55 singles. Completing the team are Diane Barker, Charleston, S.C.; Susan Wright, Grand Junction, Co.; and Leslie Murveit, Portola Valley, Calif. The U.S. is the defending champion in the Connolly Cup.

Below is a list of players representing the U.S. and the USTA at the 2012 ITF Seniors World Team Championships:

Men's 35, Italia Cup
1. Stuart Duncan, Laguna Beach, Calif.
2. Robert  Collins, Houston, captain
3. Mark Tepes, Medford, N.J.
4. Gabriel Ventner, Blue Ash, Ohio

Men's 40, Tony Trabert Cup
1. Jeff Tarango, Manhattan Beach, Calif.
2. Eoin Collins, Houston
3. Willie Dann, Denver, captain
4. Lew Miller, Denver

Men's 45, Dubler Cup
1. Mario Tabares, Miami, captain
2. Andy Stoner, Cave Creek, Ariz.
3. Curtis Dunn, San Francisco
4. Rick Leach, Newport Beach, Calif.

Men's 50, Fred Perry Cup
1. Mike Fedderly, Palm Desert, Calif.
2. Val Wilder, Fort Worth, Texas
3. Mike Tammen, Portland, Ore.
4. Peter Markes, Austin, Texas, captain

Men's 55, Austria Cup
1. Sal Castillo, San Antonio, Texas
2. Geoff Martinez, San Rafael, Calif.
3. Ross Persons, Houston, captain
4. Dan Waldman, Washington, D.C.

Women's 35, Suzanne Lenglen Cup
1. Patricia Zerdan, Dallas
2. Kelly Pace-Wilson, Cameron Park, Calif.
3. Trish Riddell, Lakeland, Fla., captain
4. Carolina Blouin, Raleigh, N.C.

Women's 40, Young Cup
1. Julie Cass, Austin, Texas
2. Jennifer Dawson, Carlsbad, Calif.
3. Gretchen Magers, San Diego
4. Amy Alcini, Malibu, Calif., captain 

Women's 45, Margaret Court Cup
1. Shelly Works, San Antonio, Texas
2. Mariana Hollman, Winston-Salem, N.C.
3. Judy Newman, Scotts Valley, Calif.
4. Jarilyn Joseph, Pacific Palisades, Calif., captain

Women's 50, Maria Esther Bueno Cup
1. Fran Chandler, Jackson, Tenn., captain
2. Tina Karwasky, Glendale, Calif.
3. Tracy Houk, Half Moon Bay, Calif.
4. Mary Dailey, Delray Beach, Fla.

Women's 55, Maureen Connolly Cup
1. Diane Barker, Daniel Island, S.C.
2. Susan Wright, Grand Junction, Colo.
3. Carolyn Nichols, Rancho Santa Fe, Calif., captain
4. Leslie Airola Murveit, Portola Valley, Calif.

Pre-tournament Events Celebrate 5th Annual Sarasota Open Pro Tennis
The Sarasota Open has announced a line-up of pre-tournament events leading to the on-court action of the 2012 Sarasota Open, the largest annual sporting event held in the Sarasota area.

The new Opening Night Gala will be hosted at Ed Smith Stadium on March 9, 2012, courtesy of the Baltimore Orioles. The Sarasota Open has also partnered with the Sarasota Film Festival to create an opening party combining the excitement of the sports world and the best of the entertainment world.

April 6-8, 2012 will see the Sarasota Open Wild Card Tournament hosted at the Bath and Racquet Club in Sarasota. Entry Fee is $100 and the entry deadline is April 1, 2012. The winner will claim a wildcard entry into the Sarasota Open main draw on April 14-22, 2012. The Sarasota Open Players Party will take place at the Sarasota Yacht Club on Sunday, April 15. Tickets are on sale now at a cost of $100 per person.

Volunteers and ball persons are also needed for the tournament, and training classes for volunteers will be held this March. If you are interested in signing up, or want more information about becoming a volunteer please call (941) 809-8996, or send an email to tony@SarasotaOpen.org.

To purchase tickets or get more information on events, go to www.SarasotaOpen.org.






Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share