Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

Florida Tennis Briefs(4): Players Named for USTA Multicultural Camps, Aussie Open Playoffs, More

November 18, 2011 09:39 AM
Palm Coast, Wesley Chapel Players Chosen for USTA Multicultural Tennis Camp

From left: Boys' 12 Singles winner Ariel Hollender of Aventura and runner-up Noah Makarome of Wesley Chapel
Noah Makarome (right) was the USTA Florida Jr. State Closed runner-up in the Boys' 12 division in 2010, and captured the championship in 2011
Palm Coast's Jason Legall and Wesley Chapel's Noah Makarome were among 16 national players selected to participate in the USTA Player Development Multicultural Training Camp, to be held Nov. 18-20, 2011, at the USTA Training Center Headquarters in Boca Raton, Fla.

USTA National Coaches Richard Ashby and Kent Kinnear will be conducting the training camp for players born in 1998, 1999 and 2000. 
Also among the boys chosen were Christopher Dean (Papillion, NE), Gaston Muhammed (Duluth, GA), Mwendwa Mbithi (Succasunna, NJ), Jibril Nettles (Detroit, MI), King Roy (San Antonio, TX), and Daniel Thomas (Columbus, OH).

Girls chosen for the camp were Julieanne Bou (Bayamon, PR), Isabelle Boulais (Hilton Head, SC), Angel Carney (Dallas, GA), Marcella Cruz (Marlboro, NJ), Clarissa Hand (Moorestown, NJ), Ann Li (Devon, PA), Nicole Roc (Chicago, IL), and Emily Thomas (Cincinnati, OH). 

The goal of USTA Player Development is to provide American junior, collegiate and young professional players the opportunities to reach their maximum potential. For more information go to http://www.usta.com/About-USTA/Player-Development/.

UF's Embree Named to USTA Team for Master'U BNP Paribas

embree lauren-2010The USTA announced that the University of Florida's Lauren Embree will be among the top American collegians selected to represent the United States in the sixth annual Master'U BNP Paribas, an international collegiate team competition held Dec. 8-11, 2011, in Rouen, France. The event features eight teams composed of college and university players from around the world. 

The U.S., which defeated France to win the 2009 title and then lost to France in the 2010 final, will be competing for the fourth consecutive year against a field that includes teams from Belgium, China, France, Germany, Great Britain, Ireland and Spain. The teams will compete in a best-of-seven format consisting of two men's and two women's singles matches, one men's and one women's doubles match, and one mixed doubles match.  

Also named to the team were Jarmere Jenkins (Virginia), Beatrice Capra (Duke), Daniel Nguyen (USC), Jacqueline Cako (Arizona State), and Wil Spencer (Georgia).

For the third consecutive year, the team will be coached by Greg Patton, the head coach of the Boise State University men's tennis team, and Mark Guilbeau, the head women's tennis coach at the University of Virginia, who will be coaching for the second straight year. Roster spots for the team were selected by a committee of USTA Player Development and coaches and staff from the Intercollegiate Tennis Association.

Embree, a junior from Marco Island, Fla., won the title-clinching match for Florida at the 2011 NCAA Championships and is No. 5 in the ITA Preseason Division I singles rankings. Embree was a member of the 2011 USTA Collegiate Team, an elite training program funded by the USTA to provide top American collegians with valuable exposure to the USTA Pro Circuit in a team-oriented environment.

Florida Tech's Macom Awarded by USTA/ITA

Macom BillFlorida Tech University tennis coach Bill Macom was named the 2011 USTA/ITA Sectional Campus & Community Outreach Award winner for the USTA Florida Section by the United States Tennis Association and the Intercollegiate Tennis Association.

USTA Sectional winners included coaches of teams from NCAA Divisions I, II and III. Award applications are open each year to ITA member varsity coaches at all levels of collegiate tennis. Sectional winners are eligible to win the two national awards.
The USTA/ITA National Campus & Community Outreach Award is presented each year to a college coach who provides a leadership role in increasing tennis participation throughout his or her community, both on and off campus. Among the USTA/ITA partner programs available to assist coaches in giving back are Campus Kids' Days, Campus QuickStart, Campus Showdowns and Tennis On Campus.
The USTA/ITA National QuickStart Provider of the Year Award recognizes a college coach who has promoted the 10 and Under Tennis format to elementary school children by hosting QuickStart programs on campus. With smaller racquets, softer balls and shorter courts, 10 and Under Tennis ensures that America's newest tennis players enjoy the sport from their very first forehand.

In 2008 Macom was named the USTA/ITA National Campus & Community Outreach Award winner.
To learn more about the Intercollegiate Tennis Association, please visit www.ITAtennis.com.

Boca Raton's Keys Added to USTA Australian Open Wildcard Playoffs Field

Madison-KeysOBaction.jpgBoca Raton teen Madison Keys and Georgia's Grace Min have been added to the eight-woman field that will compete for an Australian Open wildcard at the Racquet Club of the South in Atlanta on Dec. 16-18, 2011.

Keys and Min join fellow Americans Melanie Oudin, Coco Vandeweghe, Jamie Hampton and Alison Riske thus far named to the event. Last year Keys lost to Vandeweghe at the event, but this past summer she won the USTA US Open Wildcard Playoff and became the youngest player to win a main draw match at the US Open since 2005.

"The Racquet Club of the South has been a great host for our Australian Open Wildcard Playoff the past two years," said USTA Player Development head Patrick McEnroe. "The Atlanta tennis community has embraced the event and we expect interest to continue to grow in the coming years. The event is a great showcase for our players and promotes our philosophy of having them earn their way into Grand Slam events through competition."

Teens Ryan Harrison and Lauren Davis won last year to earn main draw wildcards into the 2011 Australian Open.

Americans Robby Ginepri, Denis Kudla and Jack Sock were the first three players named for the eight-player men's field, with the remaining five players to be name in the coming weeks.

For tickets and more information, go to www.australianwildcard.com.  






Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share