Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

Sierra Poske Receives Bill Talbert Junior Sportsmanship Award

July 8, 2005 02:56 PM

Sierra Poske_Hall of Fame award.jpg

The International Tennis Hall of Fame presented the 2004 Bill Talbert Junior Sportsmanship Awards on Saturday, July 9, prior to the annual Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. The 2004 recipients are Ashwin Kumar, TX, Elizabeth Lumpkin, IL, Taylor Matsumoto, CA, and Sierra Poske, FL.

Presented annually by the Board of Directors of the International Tennis Hall of Fame, the four recipients are selected from the 17 sectional nominations of the United States Tennis Association (USTA) Awards Committee. Each award winner must be a junior player who exemplifies the finest qualities of sportsmanship in tournament play as well as one who maintains the finest traditions of the great sportsmen/women of tennis, past and present.

Sierra Poske of Ponte Vedra Beach is a true model of what junior tennis is all about. An outstanding junior competitive player on the courts, she is an outstanding humanitarian off the courts.  She is a volunteer for numerous community projects, and Poske has won eight national titles representing Florida and has been named the Florida Times Union’s Player of the Year the past two years. She was the 1999 ATP Gator Bowl Sportsmanship Award winner and received the Team Florida Sportsmanship Award. Attending Wake Forrest University, Poske continues to be a role model for others both on and off the court.






Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share