Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

ITA Announces National Players and Doubles Teams of the Year

June 8, 2007 01:24 PM

Miami's Cohen Repeats as Women's POY

SKILLMAN, N.J. - Miami's (Fla.) Audra Cohen and Virginia's Somdev Devvarman have been named the 2007 Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) National Players of the Year and Georgia's Luis Flores and John Isner and North Carolina's Sara Anundsen and Jenna Long are the ITA National Doubles Teams of the Year.

Miami's Cohen is the fifth player to repeat as ITA National Women's Player of the Year, joining Trinity's Gretchen Rush (1984-85), Florida's Lisa Raymond (1992-93), Stanford's Laura Granville (2000-01) and Stanford's Amber Liu (2003-04). Miami has now had the last three National POYs with Megan Bradley also receiving the award in 2005, equaling the longest streak by a school since Stanford had three straight winners from 1989-91. Cohen, a junior from Plantation, Fla., who is forgoing her senior season for the professional tour, captured the NCAA singles title last week, completing a 42-2 season that also saw her win the ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor singles title in November. A three-time ITA All-American, she completed her collegiate career with a 127-11 record.

Virginia's Devvarman, a junior from Chennai, India, reached the NCAA men's singles final for the second straight year, beating Georgia's Isner for the title. He went 44-5 in 2006-07 and finished the season with a 16-match win streak. Devvarman, the first player from an Atlantic Coast Conference school to receive this award, finished the season at No. 1 in the Fila national singles rankings and also garnered a No. 2 ranking in doubles and helped UVA to a No. 2 final team ranking. Next season he will try to become the first men's player since Northwestern's Marty Riessen (1962-64) to reach three straight NCAA singles finals.

Georgia's Flores and Isner turned in a 38-3 record this season while capturing two national titles - the Polo Ralph Lauren All-American and ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor. Despite a quarterfinal loss in the NCAAs the Bulldog duo finished No. 1 in the Fila national doubles rankings. Isner was also part of the 2005 ITA National Doubles Team of the Year with Antonio Ruiz. Isner is a senior from Greensboro, N.C., and Flores is a junior from Xalapa, Mexico. They were just the fourth duo to win the ITA All-American and National Indoor doubles titles in the same season and also helped UGA capture the NCAA team championship on May 22.

UNC's Anundsen and Long captured the NCAA doubles title last month and finished at No. 1 in the Fila rankings. They went 29-6 this season and reached the quarterfinals at the two other national championships in the fall, the Riviera/ITA All-American and ITA National Indoor. Both seniors, Long is from Fremont, Calif., and Anundsen is from Littleton, Colo. They are just the second duo not from a Pac-10 school to receive this award and first since 2001. ITA All-Americans in doubles each of the past two seasons, they were first from UNC to capture and NCAA women's tennis crown.

As the governing body of collegiate tennis the ITA promotes both the athletic and academic achievements of the collegiate tennis community. The ITA, which is based in Skillman, N.J., administers several national and regional championship events, the ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit, presented by the USTA, and the Fila Collegiate Tennis Rankings for men's and women's tennis at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior College levels. The ITA also has a comprehensive awards program for players and coaches to honor excellence in academics, leadership and sportsmanship. The official ITA website is www.ITAtennis.com.

Past ITA National Players of the Year:
1980 - Peter Rennert, Stanford
1981 - Tim Mayotte, Stanford
1982 - Marcel Freeman, UCLA
1983 - Greg Holmes, Utah
1984 - Paul Annacone, Tennessee
1985 - Mikael Pernfors, Georgia
1986 - Rick Leach, Southern California
1987 - Richey Reneberg, SMU
1988 - Robbie Weiss, Pepperdine
1989 - MaliVai Washington, Michigan
1990 - Steve Bryan, Texas
1991 - Al Parker, Georgia
1992 - Alex O'Brien, Stanford
1993 - Chris Woodruff, Tennessee
1994 - Mark Merklein, Florida
1995 - Sargis Sargsian, Arizona State
1996 - Cecil Mamiit, Southern California
1997 - Thomas Dupre, Mississippi State
1998 - Bob Bryan, Stanford
1999 - James Blake, Harvard
2000 - Alex Kim, Stanford
2001 - Matias Boeker, Georgia
2002 - Matias Boeker, Georgia
2003 - Amer Delic, Illinois
2004 - Benedikt Dorsch, Baylor
2005 - Benedikt Dorsch, Baylor
2006 - Benjamin Kohlloeffel, UCLA
2007 - Somdev Devvarman, Virginia

1982 - Vicki Nelson, Rollins
1983 - Beth Herr, Southern California
1984 - Gretchen Rush, Trinity (Texas)
1985 - Gretchen Rush, Trinity (Texas)
1986 - Caroline Kuhlman, Southern California
1987 - Patty Fendick, Stanford
1988 - Halle Cioffi, Florida
1989 - Tami Whitlinger, Stanford
1990 - Debbie Graham, Stanford
1991 - Sandra Birch, Stanford
1992 - Lisa Raymond, Florida
1993 - Lisa Raymond, Florida
1994 - Angela Lettiere, Georgia
1995 - Keri Phebus, UCLA
1996 - Jill Craybas, Florida
1997 - Lilia Osterloh, Stanford
1998 - Vanessa Webb, Duke
1999 - Zuzana Lesenarova, San Diego
2000 - Laura Granville, Stanford
2001 - Laura Granville, Stanford
2002 - Bea Bielik, Wake Forest
2003 - Amber Liu, Stanford
2004 - Amber Liu, Stanford
2005 - Megan Bradley, Miami (Fla.)
2006 - Audra Cohen, Miami (Fla.)
2007 - Audra Cohen, Miami (Fla.)

Past ITA National Doubles Teams of the Year:
2000 - Geoff Abrams and Alex Kim, Stanford
2001 - Matias Boeker and Travis Parrott, Georgia
2002 - Andrew Colombo and Marc Kovacs, Auburn
2003 - Richard Barker and William Barker, Rice
2004 - Richard Barker and William Barker, Rice
2005 - John Isner and Antonio Ruiz, Georgia
2006 - Kevin Anderson and Ryan Rowe, Illinois
2007 - Luis Flores and John Isner, Georgia

2000 - Claire Curran and Amy Jensen, California
2001 - Whitney Laiho and Jessica Lehnhoff, Florida
2002 - Lauren Kalvaria and Gabriela Lastra, Stanford
2003 - Christina Fusano and Raquel Kops-Jones, California
2004 - Lauren Barnikow and Erin Burdette, Stanford
2005 - Alice Barnes and Erin Burdette, Stanford
2006 - Alice Barnes and Anne Yelsey, Stanford
2007 - Sara Anundsen and Jenna Long, North Carolina






Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share