Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

Four Floridians Named to 2009 USTA Summer Collegiate Tennis Team

June 11, 2009 07:00 AM

Four college players from Florida will join the 24 top Americans on the USTA Summer Collegiate Team, the elite training program that provides valuable exposure to the USTA Pro Circuit in a team-oriented environment.

In addition to competing on the USTA Pro Circuit, USTA Player Development will host two Pro Tour Transition camps – one for the men, one for the women – for the selected players. The men’s camp will be held June 20-23 in Boca Raton, Fla., while the women’s camp will be conducted July 6-9 in Atlanta.

Florida players selected to the team were Miami’s Jean-Yves Aubone (JR, Florida State), Jupiter’s Irina Falconi (FR, Georgia Tech), Brandon’s Austin Krajicek (SO, Texas A&M), and Orlando’s Michael Venus (SR, Louisiana State).

With both the men’s and women’s teams increasing from six to 12 players, each team will this year have two coaches. Amanda Augustus, head coach of women’s tennis at the University of California and Kathy Sell, head coach of women’s tennis at Princeton University, will coach the women’s team. The men’s team will be coached by Chris Brandi, assistant coach of men’s tennis at Wake Forest University, and Tony Bresky, associate head coach of men’s tennis at the University of Virginia.

The top six American players from the season-ending ITA national singles rankings are eligible for automatic selections, with up to three additional spots held for the highest-ranked American doubles team and the top American finisher at the NCAA Championships. The remaining players on each team were selected by USTA Player Development staff in conjunction with USTA National Coaches, Intercollegiate Tennis Association staff, and current collegiate coaches. Eighteen of the players selected received 2009 All-American honors.

Current pros who were members of prior USTA Summer Collegiate Teams include James Blake, Bob and Mike Bryan, Audra Cohen, Amer Delic, Laura Granville, John Isner, Jesse Levine, Todd Paul, Sam Warburg, and Jesse Witten.






Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share