Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

Jacksonville, Orlando, Miami Multiple Winners at USTA Florida Adult League State Chps.

August 10, 2009 07:00 AM

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla., August 10, 2009 -- Jacksonville cleaned up with three teams advancing to the USTA League National Championships in October, and Orlando and South Miami-Dade each advanced two teams on Aug. 7-9 during the USTA Florida Adult League State Championships at the Florida Tennis Center in Daytona Beach, Fla.

Broward County, Ocala, Pensacola and Sarasota also each advanced one team to nationals.

Jacksonville was looking at a potential five teams advancing to state on the final Sunday of competition before two teams came up short. The Jacksonville 3.5 men finished second to the two-time champion Orlando 3.5 men, and the Jacksonville 4.5 men lost the final deciding match against South Miami-Dade’s 4.5 men.

Jacksonville’s 5.0 men advance to the national championships for the third consecutive year.

In addition to Orlando’s 3.5 men successfully defending their state title from last year, the Orlando 3.0 women will represent USTA Florida at nationals. South Miami-Dade’s men’s 4.5 crown joined that of the all-pink wearing South Miami-Dade 3.5 women.

The Indian Wells Tennis Garden in Indian Wells, Calif., will host the 5.0-level national championships on Oct. 2-4, and the 2.5-level championships on Oct. 9-11.

The Darling Tennis Center and Lorenzi Park in Las Vegas will host the 4.0 national championships on Oct. 2-4 and the 4.5 on Oct. 30-Nov. 1. The Randolph Tennis Center in Tucson, Ariz., will host the 3.0 national championships on Oct. 9-11, and 3.5 on Oct. 16-18, 2009.

Here are the winning teams and final standings for the 2009 USTA Florida Adult League State Championships:

*For Winners & Finalists pictures go to www.ustaflorida.printroom.com | Results*

2.5 women state champions Jacksonville

Women’s 2.5 Winner: Jacksonville (San Jose Country Club) – Elizabeth Basney Seeker (captain), Linda Walter, Amber Redden, Heidi Curtis, Julie Edwards, Patricia Lamell, Rebecca Ciric, Lori Lunitz, Julie Pyburn
2nd: Ocala
3rd: Daytona Beach
4th: St.Pete/Clearwater – Belleair Breakers
5th: South Miami-Dade

Women’s 3.0 Winner: Orlando (Avalon Park) -- Jill Renee Meunier, Noel Crystal Price, Alexia Michelle Jowers, Tracy Lynn Canning, Lisa Kent Meyer, Dahianna Florez Teagle, Tracey Turner, Teresa Jane Bethel, Marilu Barroso, Karin Hammond, Celeen Lincoln, Donna Kroskey Faris, Cyndi Vancampen (captain), Janet Franklin, Monica Andre, Debbie Anne Haughton
2nd: Pensacola -- PAC
3rd: Daytona Beach
4th: Naples - Pelican Bay Park
5th: South Miami-Dade

Women’s 3.5 Winner: South Miami-Dade – Adriana Rodriguez, Belinda Sime, Christina Melendez, Vilma Dailey, Debra Diaz, Maggie Sanchez, Mia Patch, Annie Cristina Hazday, Janet Sanchez, Ana Mato, Claudia Wilkins, Arleene Alvarez, Ana Veloso (co-captain), Leticia Diaz (captain)
2nd: Brevard
3rd: Orlando – Eastwood
4th: St. Pete/Clearwater -- Largo Tennis Center
5th: Pensacola – Shoreline

Women’s 4.0 Winner: Jacksonville (San Jose Country Club) – Julia Beatty, Karla Liguori, Annie Benedetto, Rose Caven (captain), Aimee Powell, Corinne Turnbull, Nancy Apple, Janice Copley, Grace Walsh, Karen Danese, Karen Taylor Blount, Ali Cribb, Susie Demille, Cindy Vermut, Kara Gist, Lindsey Cribb
2nd: Gainesville/Lake City- DB Racquet Club
3rd: North Palm Beach
4th: Orlando -- Ft. Gatlin
5th: Lee/Charlotte -- Head Games

Women’s 4.5 Winner: Sarasota (Longwood Run) – Barbara Lancer (captain), Joann Demartini, Tigue Ann Malisoff, Julie Heitman, Sarah Rodgers, Kelly A. J. Stroble, Nina Schmidt, Allison Whitten, Lynn Thompson, Kerry Distefano, Cindy Johnson Bruckman, Marion Lieb, Lilian Peltz-Petow, Sandra Nielson, Kay Thayer, Peggy Winsler, Laurie Tinnell, Lisa White
2nd: South Miami/Dade
3rd: Tampa -- Harbour Island
4th: Jacksonville -- Glen Kernan

Men’s 2.5 Winner: Ocala – Cameron McCaskill (captain), Greg Slay, Robert John Parko, Kevin Kintzele, Dwayne Sean Molock, Jeff Fusco, Chris Okonkwo, Anthony Ewere Okoh, Gary Godek
2nd: Daytona Beach -- Tomoka Oaks

Men’s 3.0 Winner: Pensacola (STC) – Tim Floyd (captain), Patrick Saden, Wade Jeffrey Wilson, Brent Scott, Michael Andrew Ellis, Rodger Lowery, Robert Patterson, Thomas Walsh, John Frank, Damon Norris, Rex Jones, Robert Timby, Robert Charles Krasnosky, Ti McConnell
2nd: Ocala
3rd: Brevard – Kiwi
4th: St. Pete/Clearwater – Countryside

Men’s 3.5 Winner: Orlando (Sanlando) – Tim Nichols, Thomas Condo, Don Brewer, Kirk Searls, Janusz Pytel, Bill Prendergast, Lawrence Brown, Synod Boyd, Jerry Cutchens, Steve Mohl (captain), Paul Ricci, Brian Durr, Andy Jablonski, Mark Koivu, Cameron Ricci
2nd: Jacksonville -- Eagle Harbor
3rd: South Miami/Dade -- Royal Palm
4th: Lee/Charlotte -- Punta Gorda
5th: Brevard County -- Fee Ave.

Men’s 4.0 Winner: Broward (JETC) – Andres Stuve (captain), Daniel Harwin, Gary Reif, Rodrigo Jesus Cruz, Jonathan Chong, Luis Valdivieso, Jaime Vaca, Alejandro Salinas, Stephen Tate, Salvador Gomez, Daniel Mork, Juan Pablo Camargo, Enrique Tatoy
2nd: St. Pete/Clearwater – Seminole
3rd: Ocala
4th: Gainesville/Lake City – Jonesville
5th: Pensacola -- Russell

Men’s 4.5 Winner: South Miami/Dade (Salvadore) -- Miguel Correa, Javier Correa, Ulisses Lopez, Alejandro Aller, Daniel Lopez, Steve Keppinger, Jose Luis Zea (captain), Carlos Terrazos, Ricardo Olavoolsen Almeida, Oscar Mas, George Westring, Caesar Stewart, Alexander Romero
2nd: Jacksonville -- Selva Marina
3rd: St. Pete/Clearwater – McMullen
4th: Gainesville/Lake City – DB
5th: Tampa

Men’s 5.0 Winner: Jacksonville (Ponte Vedra Inn & Club) -- Olivier Lorin, Magnus Berglund, Nathaniel Woodrow, Steven Parkes (captain), Jeff Millaire, John Jacobson, T. K. Kelly, Igal Buberman, Galen Perdikis, Adam Kework
2nd: Polk -- Lake Wales
3rd: Brevard – Kiwi
4th: South Miami-Dade – Tamiami
5th: Naples -- YMCA
6th: Gainesville/Lake City -- DB

USTA Florida is proud to partner with businesses in Daytona Beach during the 2009 USTA Florida Adult League Championships and during other events throughout the year. USTA Florida sponsors help make an enjoyable experience for our players from around the state by offering special discounts and services.
Hotel Sponsors (offer a special discount to USTA players): Bahama House, Best Western Aku Tiki, Courtyard by Marriott, Hampton Inn, Daytona Speedway, Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort, Hilton Garden Inn, Holiday Inn Daytona Beach at LPGA, Holiday Inn Express, Residence Inn by Marriott.
Restaurant Sponsors (offered discount coupons and sampling): Knickers Bar & Grill at LPGA International, Jimmy Johns
Business Partner sponsors (Palmer Chiropractic offered free massages to players): Palmer College of Chiropractic
National Sponsor: Penn

For full TennisLink results from the 2009 USTA Florida Adult League State Championships click here.

*For Winners & Finalists pictures go to www.ustaflorida.printroom.com | Results*






Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share