Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

Miami, Jacksonville, Gainesville Advance to Junior Team Tennis Nationals

August 4, 2009 07:00 AM
Approximately 650 players comprising 85 Junior Team Tennis squads converged on the Lakeland and Auburndale areas on July 31-Aug. 2, 2009, to determine who would advance to nationals during the 2009 USTA Florida Junior Team Tennis Summer Sectional Tournament.

Summer is the pinnacle of the USTA Florida Junior Team Tennis seasonal format, which includes Spring, Summer and Fall leagues with mixed-gender teams. The Summer section tournament winners advance to the USTA Junior Team Tennis Nationals in Mobile, Ala., in October.

"The event was fantastic, people had so much fun, the kids and the families had a great time," said USTA Florida Team Tennis Coordinator Michelle Willis. "We provided photography services via the USTA Florida Photo Store (www.ustaflorida.printroom.com/pro/ustaflorida) where parents and players can purchase photos, and this year we offered more flight playoffs, offering a minimum of four rounds."

The Miami Dream Team edged the local You Got Schlicked squad in the 18-and-under Advanced flight, with You Got Schlicked featuring Lakeland newspaper The Ledger's Male and Female Tennis Players of the Year in Danny Mack and Andrea Arguello. The winning Miami Dream Team was captained by Noel Cubela and included players Diana Maria Perez, Emilio Antonio Teran, Gabriela Palacios, Grover Ordonez, Juan Luis Perez, Lizbeth Vargas, and Rafael Alvarez.

The team name "You Got Schlicked," by the way, is a twist on Lakeland pro Ray Schick's name.

The Florida Yacht Club out of Jacksonville won the 18-and-under Intermediate flight, edging Treasure Bay by three games in the final. Susan Kirby captained the FYC team, with members Angelica Inclan, Butler Braren, Cameron James Colvard, Elizabeth Jones, John Kirby, Katherine Jones, Marijke Arlysse Boers, Patrick Geddes and Thomas Kent.

Another Jacksonville team, Mill Field-Keller, won the 14-and-under Advanced, captained by Cheryl Keller and comprised of team members Amanda Keller, David Tossavainen, Ethan Wichtendahl, Frances Pardillo, James Edward Gray, Katie Fitt, Mitchell McCauley and Olivia Rolle.

Gainesville's Powershots defeated the Biscayne Bulldogs in the 14-and-under Intermediate final to advance to nationals, coached by So-Mei Louie and national wheelchair champion Johnny Johnston. Powershots team members were Camille Kima, Choong Sek Oh, Courtney Lynn Cribb, Emily Louie-Meadors, Jared Lee, Justin Mark Rensel, Kendal Jayne Wilby, Kyung Seok Oh, Sheridan Lee and Tabong Kima.

Other winners were also decided in sectional-only play in the 12-and-under beginner and intermediate divisions.

The 12-and-under Beginner flight was won by North River Shores Happy Feet, captained by Karin Decoste, with team members Anna Ellis, Erik Payne Clifton, Kendall Rucks, Kyle Abbott, Myles Decoste, Natalia Illuzzi and Nila Illuzzi.

The Desoto Sizzlers won the 12-and-under Intermediate flight, captained by Angela Copeland, with team members Alec Michael Palicki, Courtney Copeland, Emily Sidor, Gabrielle Woodson, Gregory Phillips Durham, Hannah Wilkins and Nicolas Fuchs.

Click here for more information on the USTA Florida Junior Team Tennis sectional or national championships.






Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share