Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

Daytona, Miami, Tampa, Sarasota Advance to USTA National Sr. Mixed Chps.

October 6, 2009 07:00 PM
Teams from Daytona Beach, South Miami Beach, Tampa and Sarasota were winners over the weekend at the 2009 USTA Florida Section Senior Mixed Championships on Oct. 2-4, 2009, held at the Florida Tennis Center in Daytona Beach.

Winners in each division now advance to the USTA Senior Mixed League National Championships on April 9-11, 2010, at Sanlando Park in Altamonte Springs, Fla.

Here are the winning teams and runner-up division finishers:

6.0 Division:
1st Place -- Daytona Beach (Oceans Racquet Club)
-- Joe Friend, Nicholas Rotella, Froukje Mochel, Bernard Barczak, Phillip Winney, Andrea Eheman, Anita Sharpee, Joanne Fenner (captain), Jack Towle, Penny Northcote

2nd Place -- Lee/Charlotte (Ft. Myers Racquet Club)


 Daytona Beach (Oceans Racquet Club) 6.0 champions

7.0 Division:
1st Place -- South Miami/Dade (Crandon Park, Key Biscayne)
-- Peter Roscia (captain), Vivian Vila, Robert Hopson, Andrea Steinacker, Julie Weaver, Michael Amin Pradhan, James Derosset, Lisa Richardson, Siriporn Burke, Norflett Harris, Marilyn Lesser, Estrella Hamui

2nd Place -- Jacksonville (Pace Island, Orange Park)


 South Miami/Dade (Crandon Park/Key Biscayne) 7.0 champions

8.0 Division:
1st Place -- Tampa (Apollo Beach)
-- Mary Beth Sultenfuss (captain), William Williams, Kenneth Andersen, Sue Kendall, Peggy Poe, Henry Marshall, Diane Stablein, Jack Vandercook

2nd Place -- Daytona Beach (Palm Coast Tennis Center)


 Tampa (Apollo Beach) 8.0 champions

9.0 Division:
1st Place -- Sarasota (Longwood Athletic Club)
-- Chris Nimptsch, Sandra Nielson, Dan McClure, Lilian Peltz-Petow, Joseph Gratton, Arletha Blackman, Barbara Lancer (captain), Cindy Johnson Bruckman, Egan Adams, Jeff Gartman, Peter Laughlin

2nd Place -- Tampa (Harbour Island Athletic Club)






Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share