Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

Gainesville, North Miami Beach, Orlando, Stuart Win at USTA Florida Jr. Team Tennis Spring Section Chps.

April 27, 2010 07:00 PM

The 12-Advanced champions G-Power

ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, Fla. -- April 28, 2010 --
Orlando and Gainesville collected two titles, and North Miami Beach and Stuart one each when 59 teams and 430 junior players competed in the USTA Florida Jr. Team Tennis Spring Section Championship, held at Sanlando and Red Bug parks in Altamonte Springs, Fla., April 24-25, 2010.

"This was the best section championship I've been a part of," said USTA Florida Team Tennis Coordinator Michelle Willis. "I loved introducing the line-ups. It gave the players a chance to meet their opponents prior to going on court. It fostered good sportsmanship too. We had great weather, and everything was on time. Sanlando and Red Bug are beautiful parks to run a tournament."

Teams contested a boys and girls singles match, a boys and girls doubles, and one mixed doubles match. Beginner divisions played 8-game pro sets with no-ad scoring, while the intermediate and advanced divisions played two out of three short sets to four games, with a set tiebreak played at 3-all, and a 10-point tiebreak in lieu of a third set.

Orlando defended its home turf with titles in the age 18-Intermediate and 18-Advanced divisions.

The North Miami Beach 12-Intermediate team, NMB Aces 1, finished ahead of the finalist Red Bug RacqKids from Orlando. The NMB Aces 1 were captained by Desi Pierre and David Reitman, and included team members Nicholas Mora, Ferylee Corney, Soloman Slatkoff, Julia Eshet, Camila Ordonez, and Paulina Reitman.

The Orlando 18-Intermediate team, The Jacks, edged the finalist Treasure Bay Pirates of St. Petersburg. The Jacks were captained by Claudia Fernandez, with the team comprised of Julie Fernandez, Jennifer Fernandez, Kristina Wiser, Rushi Amin, Austin Hittel, Joseph Souza, and Jonathan Dougherty.

The Orlando 18-Advanced Smith Barney Strikers finished ahead of finalists Miami Dream team from Miami's Bryan Park for the 18-Advanced title. The Smith Barney Strikers were captained by Dave Dickenson and Pam Saffron, with team members Lauren Filburn, Miles Saffran, Emily Myers, Rocco English, Stephen Watson, Peter Tong, Lisa May, Alexa Ricci, and Logan Walker.

Gainesville's G-Power were the 12-Advanced champions, finishing ahead of Orlando's The Acers. Bobbie Mehan captained G-Power and team members Kendal Wilby, Harry Cacciatore, Grey Cacciatore, Lillie Mehan, Jared Lee, Tony Sek Oh, and Emily Louie-Meadors.

The 14-Intermediate Gainesville Powershots edged the North River Shores Acers (Stuart) for the 14-Intermediate title under the tutelage of captains Mary Cribb and John Johnston. The Gainesville Powershots were comprised of players Courtney Cribb, Taylor Harrell, Sheridan Lee, Camille Kima, Jacob Gordon, and Andrew Irani.

Stuart's North River Shore Smashers won the 14-Advanced title, finishing ahead of Daytona Beach's Magic. The North River Shore Smashers were captained by Tom Engel, and comprised of players Colter DeCoste, Taylor Conti, Drew Engel, Drew Blair, Marnie Stokes, Jordan Rucks.

The next season of USTA Florida Jr. Team Tennis will conclude with the JTT Summer Section Championship
National Qualifier, held Aug. 5-8, 2010, at the Florida Tennis Center in Daytona Beach. For more information on USTA Florida Jr. Team Tennis go to http://www.usatennisflorida.usta.com/Global/Custom Pages/USTA Jr Team Tennis - New/JTT_HOMEPAGE.aspx


The 12-Intermediate champions NMB Aces 1


The 14-Advanced champions, the North River Shores Smashers


The 14-Intermediate champions, the Powershots


The 18-Advanced champion Smith Barney Strikers


The 18-Intermediate champions The Jacks






Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share