Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

2010 USTA Florida 3.5/4.5 Senior Section Chps. This Weekend in Daytona Beach

April 28, 2010 07:00 PM
DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. -- April 29, 2010 -- The 2010 USTA Florida 3.5/4.5 Senior Section Championships will be held this weekend on April 30-May 2, 2010, at the Florida Tennis Center in Daytona Beach, Fla.

The Broward men's 4.5 team is the only defending champion from 2009 to make a return trip to the Florida Tennis Center in 2010 as the women's 3.5 Daytona Beach team, the women's 4.5 Orlando squad, and the men's 3.5 St. Pete/Clearwater team failed to qualify to defend their titles.

Here are the teams competing this weekend in Daytona Beach:

Women's 3.5 teams -- Emerald Coast (captain Marla Armstrong), Gainesville (Becky Bates), Pinellas County (Kathy Caffrey), South Miami/Dade (Terry Jonas), Pensacola (Carole Cantin), Jacksonville (Pam Cohen), Polk County (Glenda Chambers), Volusia/Flagler (Cathy King), Ocala (Dorothy Giovannelli), Hillsborough (Arlene Maloney), Brevard County (Jan Willis), Pasco/Hernando (Marjorie McLellan), Sarasota (Sandy Schonhoff), Treasure Coast (Martha Rubio), and Naples (Michele Pascale).

Women's 4.5 teams -- Gainesville (captain Debbie Bowers), Pinellas County (Andree Martin), Brevard County (Carol Smith), Sarasota (Barbara Lancer), South Miami/Dade (Sheri Adler), Tallahassee (Dale McCloskey), Jacksonville (Joyce Tabor), Hillsborough (Phylis Albritton), Volusia/Flagler (Sally Dock), and Naples (Judi Eber).

Men's 3.5 teams -- Tallahassee (captain Jerry Wilson), Ocala (Norman Berry), Hillsborough (Albert Martini), Brevard County (Keith Howard), Pensacola (James Chandler), Gainesville (Robert Fox), Jacksonville (David Boehm), Polk County (Joanne Collier), Pinellas County (Edmund Ostiguy), Sarasota (Richard Born), and Naples (Jon Feins).

Men's 4.5 teams -- Jacksonville (captain Tom Hack), Ocala (John Natolly), Pinellas County (Ronald Massey), Brevard County (Murray Lilley), Naples (Robert Baker), Gainesville (David Staal), Hillsborough (Dave Gunn), Orlando (Chris Testerman), Sarasota (Jeff Gartman), and Broward (Londi Romero).

Winners advance to the USTA 3.5 Senior League National Championships on Oct. 8-10, 2010, and the USTA 4.5 Senior League National Championships on Oct. 15-17, 2010, both in Indian Wells, Calif.





Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share