Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

Brevard, Gainesville, Naples, South Miami Win USTA Senior League Titles

May 2, 2010 07:00 PM

 The Gainesville 3.5 Women champions


 The second-place Brevard 3.5 Women


 The South Miami-Dade 4.5 Women champions

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. -- May 3, 2010 --
Four different cities/counties took home the four different senior league (players age 50 and older)  USTA Florida section titles over the weekend during the 2010 USTA Florida 3.5/4.5 Senior Section Championships, April 30-May 2, 2010, at the Florida Tennis Center in Daytona Beach, Fla.

The winning teams now advance to the USTA 3.5 Senior League National Championships on Oct. 8-10, 2010, or the USTA 4.5 Senior League National Championships on Oct. 15-17, 2010, both in Indian Wells, Calif.

Brevard and Naples teams reached two finals each during the weekend, each winning one and losing in the women's 3.5 and women's 4.5 finals respectively. Pinellas County and Sarasota teams also each recorded a second place finish.

The Gainesville women captured the 3.5 title, steamrolling to a 3-0 victory over second-place Brevard County. Gainesville was captained by Becky Bates, with team members Terry Lynn West, Jane Ryals, Lisette Staal, Patricia Chonin, Kim Greer, Dina Treloar, Jacqueline Ferber, Cindy Austgen, Ivette Ramos, Shirley Clark, Joyce Carter, Janet Ellard, and Lisa Clary.

South Miami/Dade was the champion in the women's 4.5 division, edging second-place Naples 2-1 in the final. Sheri Adler captained the South Miami/Dade squad, with teammates Ann Goldman, Dawn Schlesinger, Cris Sweeny, Mary Murray, Yuki Denmark, Rose Haney, Hilary Landorf, and Edith Huntley Stickney.

The Brevard County men were the winners in the 3.5 division, rolling past second-place Pinellas County 3-0 in the final. Keith Howard captained the Brevard team, which was comprised of William Kuell, Michael Jackson, James Santangelo, Jerome Pepin, Peter Rochester, Jim Underill, Robert Buck, and Rocco Spaccio.

Naples was the winner of the men's 4.5 division title, edging second-place Sarasota 2-1 in the final. The Naples men were captained by Robert Baker, with teammates Clay Zyerveld, Warren Eber, James Katterfield, John Gillette, Mark Owens, Duane Covell, Larry Albritton, Frank Swope, Joey Towe, Juan Fra, and Terry See.

 The second-place Naples 4.5 Women


 The Brevard County 3.5 Men champions


 The second-place Pinellas County 3.5 Men


 The Naples 4.5 Men champions


 The second-place Sarasota 4.5 Men






Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share