Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

Pensacola Takes 2; Jacksonville, Volusia/Flagler Win at USTA Florida Sr. League Chps.

May 23, 2010 07:00 PM
DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. -- May 24, 2010 -- Pensacola senior tennis teams swept two of the four USTA League championships up for grabs this past weekend during the 2010 USTA Florida 3.0 & 4.0 Senior Section Championships, held May 21-23, 2010, at the Florida Tennis Center in Daytona Beach.

Jacksonville and Volusia/Flagler counties each also took home a sectional championship title and now advance to the national championships in October 2010. The Volusia/Flagler 3.0 men's and Jacksonville 3.0 women's champions advance to the USTA League 3.0 National Championships on Oct. 15-17, 2010, in Tucson, Ariz., while the Pensacola 4.0 men's and women's champions advance to the USTA League 4.0 National Championships on Oct. 22-24, 2010, in Tucson.

Two of last year's defending champions were turned away in the final moments of the tournament when the Jacksonville 3.0 women finished ahead of the second-place Ocala 3.0 women by a 2-1 scoreline, and the Pensacola 4.0 men edged the second-place Broward County 4.0 men by a 2-1 scoreline.

Teams from Sarasota (women's 4.0) and Gainesville (men's 3.0) were also second-place finishers over the weekend.

The Jacksonville 3.0 women champions play out of the public park Southside Tennis Complex, captained by Marsa Beck, with the team comprised of Beverley Thompson, Roslyn Fechtel, Cheryl Simmons, Lauri-Ellen Smith, Jessie Del Rosario, Judy Gabler, Mariana Van Hyning, Paula Thyfault, Linda Wilson, Margaret Radford, and Jennifer Newman.

The Pensacola women's 4.0 champions were captained by Linda McGee and comprised of Pamela Frank, Fran King, Beth Ptacek, Patricia Addison, Diana Senechal, and Sharon Higdon.

The Volusia/Flagler counties 3.0 men champions play out of the Florida Tennis Center in Daytona Beach. They were captained by Bruce Cotten, with the roster of John Hanes, Robert Miller, Stephen Goggi, Fred Tishler, Jeremy Cooper, James Murphy, Steve Goff, George Mc Neill, and Victor Passarello.

The Pensacola 4.0 men champions were captained by Pete Gilroy, and comprised of Harold Major, Shane Russell, John Tolan, Douglas Patton, Ron Busbee, Bruce Patton, Pete Moore, William Bruce Savage, and Bruce Holliday.

Here's are the winners and second-place finishers from the 2010 USTA Florida 3.0 & 4.0 Senior Section Championships:

Women 3.0
1st 2 Jacksonville     Marsa Beck
2nd         2 Ocala    Marjorie McLellan

Women 3.0 Champions - Jacksonville

Women 3.0 Finalists - Ocala

Women 4.0
1st 1     Pensacola Linda McGee
2nd         5 Sarasota Carol Furlong

Women 4.0 Champions - Pensacola

Women 4.0 Finalists - Sarasota

Men 3.0
1st 4 Volusia/Flagler     Bruce Cotton
2nd         2     Gainesville Patrick Phelan

Men 3.0 Champions - Volusia/Flagler

Men 3.0 Finalists - Gainesville

Men 4.0
1st 1 Pensacola     Pete Gilroy
2nd         8    Broward   Les Liese

Men 4.0 Champions - Pensacola

Men 4.0 Finalists - Broward

*You can find these pictures on www.ustaflorida.printroom.com*






Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share