Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

USTA Florida 3.0/4.0 Sr. League Tennis Chps. Features 42 Teams, 18 Cities/Counties

May 17, 2010 07:00 PM
Forty-two senior (50 years and older) teams representing 18 Florida cities/counties will compete this weekend to advance to the October national championships at the USTA Florida 3.0 & 4.0 Senior Section League Tennis Championships, May 21-23, 2010, at the Florida Tennis Center in Daytona Beach.

Cities/counties represented (in alpha order) are Brevard County, Broward County, Gainesville, Hillsborough County, Jacksonville, Naples, North Miami-Dade, North Palm Beach, Ocala, Orlando, Pensacola, Pinellas County, Polk County, Sarasota, South Miami-Dade, Tallahassee, Treasure Coast, and Volusia/Flagler counties.

Ocala looks to defend its 2009 section title in the Women's 3.0 division, last year advancing to nationals, while Broward County is the defending champion in the Men's 4.0 division. Daytona Beach did not qualify for the sectional tournament to defend their Women's 4.0 title from last year, and likewise with Naples in the Men's 3.0 division.

The 3.0 men's and women's champions will advance to the USTA League 3.0 National Championships on Oct. 15-17, 2010, in Tucson, Ariz., while the 4.0 champions will advance to the USTA League 4.0 National Championships on Oct. 22-24, 2010, in Tucson.

Here are the divisions and teams (captains in parenthesis) competing at the 2010 USTA Florida 3.0 & 4.0 Senior Section Tennis League Championships:

Women's 3.0 -- Jacksonville (Marsa Beck), Gainesville (Patricia Andress), Pinellas County (Jane Dizona), Volusia/Flagler (Katy Hoak), Treasure Coast (Peggy Dravis), Tallahassee (Carol Bahorski), Ocala (Marjorie McLellan), Polk County (Dianna Fleming), Sarasota (Joan Kelly), Naples (Bonnie Brown).

Women's 4.0 -- Tallahassee (Linda Slade), Jacksonville (Kathleen McClymont), Pinellas County (Charlotte Tao), Orlando (Joyce Dowd), Treasure Coast (Pamela Rucks), Pensacola (Linda McGee), Ocala (Laura Flanagan), Polk County (Roxanne McVay), Volusia/Flagler (Kathryn Preston), North Palm Beach (Nina Gossett), Gainesville (Kay Frazier), Hillsborough (Carol Cotney), Brevard County (Heather Schleicher), Sarasota (Carol Furlong).

Men's 3.0 -- Gainesville (Patrick Phelan), Volusia/Flagler (Bruce Cotton).

Men's 4.0 -- Ocala (John Nardandrea), Polk County (Aubrey Whitaker), Brevard County (Tom Erdely), Broward (TBD), Tallahassee (Dennis Kelley), Jacksonville (Glynn Wimberly), Pinellas County (Wendall Walker), Volusia/Flagler (Carl Campbell), Gainesville (Pierce Jones), Sarasota (William Breda Jr.), Naples (Skip Romano), South Miami/Dade (Luther Mathews), Pensacola (Pete Gilroy), Hillsborough (Jay Bortner), Treasure Coast (Phillip Redstone), North Miami/Dade (Michael Gerrard).





Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share