Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

Volunteers Recognized at 59th Annual Meeting

December 16, 2008 01:43 PM

An inaugural Pro-Am Tennis Event benefiting the United States Tennis Association (USTA) Florida Section Foundation and Climb for Cancer Foundation took place at Bardmoor Golf & Tennis Club in Largo on December 6. The Pro-Am Tennis Event presented by Raymond James was the first venture between the two charitable organizations and took place amidst USTA Florida’s 59th Annual Meeting and Volunteer Appreciation Weekend, Dec. 5-7 at the Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort.

Tennis professionals MaliVai Washington, John Isner, Jesse Levine, Greg Ouellette, Ricardo Acuna, Hamid Mirzadah, Scott Oudesma, Jeff Chambers, Andres Pedrosa, Todd Widom, Philip Simmons, Mike Oransky, DeVante Lindsey and Stephen Phillips paired with USTA Florida board members and Bardmoor Country Club members in an effort to raise awareness and resources to benefit cancer research and patient support at the H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center in Tampa and to ensure quality tennis opportunities for all Floridians continue to thrive. A total of 13 teams competed in the inaugural Pro-Am Tennis Event which were bid on the night before in an exciting Tennis Calcutta to raise funds for the USTA Florida Section Foundation and Climb for Cancer Foundation.

MaliVai Washington was awarded the Edward A. Turville President’s Award during the Pro-Am Tennis Event, an award that recognizes a person, volunteer and/or contributor to USTA Florida for the growth, betterment and furtherance of tennis during the term of the current president (Celia Rehm of Jacksonville).

“The USTA Florida President’s Award was a special award because a lot of the folks with the USTA Florida Section have been up to our foundation and seen our programs and what we do,” said MaliVai Washington, former tennis professional and Wimbledon finalist. “So to receive the President’s Award for our efforts over the last several years that is pretty special and I want everyone to know that regardless of what awards we may or not receive in the future, our programs are always going to run very strong, very smoothly and you will always see results from the kids we are serving.”

Although the Inaugural Pro-Am Tennis Event was an amazing experience for USTA Florida members and contributed to the over $55,000 raised during the three-day weekend, the main focus was to recognize USTA Florida volunteer successes.

“The Annual Meeting is a time to recognize some of our outstanding volunteers and to celebrate accomplishments of our organization and as well as individuals,” said Lynne Salus, Director of Volunteer Development, USTA Florida. “You do not know the magnitude of what our organization is all about until you hear some of the stories from our volunteers.”

Also unique to the USTA Florida’s Annual Meeting was a Raffle Fundraiser benefiting the two charitable organizations. For a $50 donation, individuals had a lifetime opportunity to win the ultimate 2009 US Open experience: two tickets to the USTA President’s Box, round trip airfare for two to New York and two nights hotel accommodations in New York City. Second prize included two courtside box seat tickets to the 2009 US Open and third prize was a two night stay at the Diplomat Hotel in Hollywood, Fla. Dr. Steven Dolberg of Sunrise took first prize, Marie Hemming of Gainesville won second prize and Jennifer Britt of Tallahassee claimed third prize.

“USTA Florida commends the outstanding efforts of its volunteers and community supporters for their generous donations and fundraising efforts to benefit the USTA Florida Section Foundation and Climb for Cancer Foundation,” stated Linda Curtis, Director of Community Tennis, USTA Florida. “Net proceeds from all fundraising activities will be divided equally between the two charitable organizations.”

Finally, the 59th Annual Meeting finalized the transition of the 2009-2010 USTA Florida administration with the induction of a new board followed by the election of a new nominating committee. The new Executive Committee members are: Donn Davis of Punta Gorda (president), Dan Casey of Palm Beach Gardens (president-elect), Robert Hollis of Lakeland (vice president), Nancy Horowitz of Pembroke Pines (treasurer), Barbara Manzo of Ft. Myers (secretary), Bob Pfaender of St. Cloud (vice president) and Celia Rehm of Jacksonville (past-president). Directors at Large include Bruce Boiko of Coconut Grove (chair, Bylaws and Governance Committee), Chuck Collier of Mulberry (chair, League Tennis Council), Judy Foster of Clearwater (USTA Florida Section Foundation liaison), Phil Girardi of St. Petersburg (chair, Recreational Tennis Council), Karen MacFarland of Tallahassee (chair, Community Tennis Council), Sandi Pardon of Miami (chair, Volunteers Council) and Barbara Wong of Melbourne (chair, Diversity Committee). Susan Allshouse of Delray Beach (6), Terri Florio of Jacksonville (2) and Adam Ross of Plantation (8) close out the board as Regional Representatives.

USTA Florida Hall of Fame Inductee Bruce Boiko with his family







Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share