Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

Florida 3rd at USTA League Mixed Nationals Tennis; Aussie Open WC Field

November 14, 2011 10:05 AM
Florida Places 3rd at USTA League Mixed Nationals Tennis

2.5-Champion;-Marion-webThe USTA Florida champion 2.5-level mixed doubles team from Ocala placed 3rd at the 2011 USTA Mixed Doubles National Championships, held Nov. 11-12, 2011, at the Jim Reffkin Tennis Center in Tucson, Ariz.

The Ocala/Marion County squad finished 3rd after defeating the USTA Mid-Atlantic team in the 3rd/4th place playoff match.

Ocala was represented by a husband-wife pairing on two separate teams in Tucson, as Katrina Weiss was a member of the 2.5 team, and her husband Jason Weiss competed on the Marion County team in the 9.0 division.

The NTRP (National Tennis Rating Program) divisions of play at the USTA League Mixed Nationals included 2.5 (comprised of individual players rated 2.5 or lower) and 7.0 and 9.0 (teams with combined player ratings with no more than a 1.0 differential between the partners).

Playing out of the Ft. King Tennis Center in Ocala, the national 3rd place-finishing Marion County 2.5 mixed squad was comprised of captain Crystal O'Connor, Daniel O'Connor, Tim Bachmeyer, Katrina Weiss, Scott Michael Anthony, Michael John Sullivan, Gwen Ehler, Lee Anthony, Christine Sullivan, Ellen Bachmeyer, and Caitlin Roberts.

National division champions over the weekend were the USTA Mid-Atlantic Section in the 9.0 division, USTA Hawaii in the 7.0 division, and USTA Southern in the 2.5 division.

This year's USTA League Mixed Doubles National Championship drew the top 39 teams (16 9.0 teams, 17 7.0 teams and six 2.5 teams) from throughout the nation. USTA League is celebrating its 31st anniversary this year. Established in 1980, it has grown from 13,000 participants in a few parts of the country in its first year, to over 779,000 players across the nation today, making it the world's largest recreational tennis program.

Field Takes Shape for USTA Australian Open Wildcard Tournament

Melanie Oudin and children in Palm Coast
Robby Ginepri and Melanie Oudin are among the four women and three men that have been invited to participate in the 2011 Kia Australian Open Wild Card Playoffs, to be held Dec. 16-18, 2011, at the Racquet Club of the South, a USTA Certified Regional Training Center in Atlanta. The complete field for the eight-man and eight-woman playoff will be announced as players are confirmed.

The USTA and Tennis Australia have a reciprocal agreement in which men's and women's singles main draw wildcards into the 2011 US Open and the 2012 Australian Open are exchanged. 

The four women who will compete include: Oudin (Marietta, Ga.), who in 2009 became the youngest American to reach the quarterfinals at the US Open since Serena Williams in 1999, and who helped lead the U.S. to back-to-back Fed Cup finals in 2009-10; Jamie Hampton (Auburn, Ala.), who successfully qualified for the 2011 Australian Open and who reached a career-high WTA ranking of No. 116 in April; Alison Riske (McMurray, Pa.), who reached the quarterfinals of the 2011 Wimbledon tune-up event in Birmingham, England, and who has won two $50,000 events in France this year; and Coco Vandeweghe (Rancho Santa Fe, Calif.), who broke into the WTA Top 100 this year and reached a career-high No. 89 in April. Vandeweghe won this event in 2009 to earn a wildcard into the 2010 Australian Open, and also reached the final of last year's event.   

The three men invited to compete include: Ginepri (Kennesaw, Ga.), the only active American male besides Andy Roddick to reach the semifinals of a Grand Slam event (2005 US Open), who is coming back from an arm injury suffered in 2010; Denis Kudla (Arlington, Va.), who reached the quarterfinals at the ATP World Tour event in Newport, R.I., in July; and Jack Sock (Lincoln, Neb.), who in 2010 became the first American to win the boys' singles title at the US Open since Roddick in 2000. 

Ryan Harrison and Lauren Davis won the 2010 playoffs to earn wildcards into the 2011 Australian Open.





Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share