Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

3 Florida Tennis Officials Receive Honors at US Open

September 21, 2012 09:37 AM
Rollie Shea
Jake Garner
Robert Stalzer
Three Florida tennis officials received USTA officiating awards during the USTA's 2012 Annual Meeting in New York, held during the US Open in September.

"I do not believe there has ever been one USTA Section to claim all of these awards in the same year," said USTA Florida Chair of Officials Sandi Pardon. "I was so proud of these officials and of our section."

Rollie Shea of Orlando in Region 4 was presented the Nicholas E. Powell Award. The award is presented annually to an official in recognition of the importance of officiating at the local level whose body of work is done primary at the grassroots level. These people are the backbone of officiating in USTA.

The last Florida winner of the award was Clarence Corbin (Gulf Breeze, Fla.) in 2004.

Robert Stalzer of Palm Beach in Region 6 was presented with the Jack Stahr Award, given annually to an umpire in one of their first three years at the US Open in recognition of hard work, professionalism, technical ability and cooperative attitude. It recognizes outstanding work primarily as a line official.

Other Florida winners of the award have been Vigi Dreker of Boca Raton (1995) and Jay French of West Palm Beach (1997).

Jake Garner of Tallahassee in Region 1 was presented with the John T. McGovern Award, the annual award given to a chair umpire or line umpire who has given a lifetime of dedication, service and expertise to tennis officiating.

Other Florida winners of the award have been George Duganne of Miami (1982), Charles Beck of Ft. Lauderdale (1985), Steve Ullrich of Tampa (1997), and David Littlefield of Palm Springs (2008).






Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share