4 Different Winners in 4 Divisions at USTA Florida 6.5/8.5 Combo Championships

January 23, 2013 09:52 AM
The Men's 8.5 champions from Tallahassee
The Men's 8.5 finalists from Pinellas County
 The Women's 8.5 champions from South Miami-Dade
The Women's 8.5 finalists from Orange/Seminole counties
The Men's 6.5 champions from Marion County
The Women's 6.5 champions from Jacksonville
The Women's 6.5 finalists from South Miami-Dade
The Men's 6.5 finalists from Pinellas County
Teams from Duval (Jacksonville), Leon (Tallahassee), Marion (Ocala), and South Miami-Dade (Key Biscayne) counties captured USTA Florida Section league titles at the season-ending 2012 USTA Florida Combo Adult 6.5 & 8.5 League Championships, held Jan. 18-20, 2013, at the Florida Tennis Center in Daytona Beach.
Marion successfully defended its Florida Section title from the previous year in the Men's 6.5 division, while the South Miami-Dade 6.5 women came up just short of defending their championship, losing in the final to Duval County.
Pinellas County gained two finals but lost to Marion County in the Men's 6.5 final, and to Leon County in the Men's 8.5 final.
Combo Adult teams are comprised of players 18 years or older in a combined-rating format from 5.5 to 9.5. The combined NTRP (National Tennis Rating Program) ratings of each doubles team may neither exceed the level nor be more than 1.0 less than the level in which they are competing. The NTRP rating difference between the members of an individual doubles pair may not exceed 0.5.
Here are the winners from the season-ending 2012 USTA Florida Combo Adult 6.5 & 8.5 Championships:
Women's 6.5 Division Champion: Duval County (San Jose Country Club, Jacksonville)
Final: Duval County d. South Miami-Dade 3-0
Team Roster: Nancy Hanna (captain), Denise Press, Andrea Frick, Katharine Healey, Janet Olinto, Ginger Patsy, Raquel Clark, Beth Gregory, Karen Zambetti, Jennifer Greer, Amy Cochran, Shoran Williams, Claudia Eikner, Melissa Brannon, Catherine Tiedeberg, Margaret Samuels, Carolina Rechy, Kelly Cusick
Women's 8.5 Division Champion: South Miami-Dade (Crandon Park Tennis Center, Key Biscayne)
Final: South Miami-Dade d. Orange/Seminole counties 3-0
Team Roster: Josefina Maria Gorostiaga (captain), Rose Haney, Catherine McManus, Magdalena Brave, Claire Novy, Karla Mihm, Elizabeth Marie Corzo-Ruiz, Carin Blanchard, Liliana Cronwall, Marilu Becerra, Alaina Fotiu-Wojtowicz, Tine Hestbaek, Cecilia Fillol
Men's 6.5 Division Champion: Marion County (Country Club of Ocala)
Final: Marion County d. Pinellas County 3-0
Team Roster: Troy Lewis Leonard (captain), Bob Hatcher, August Greiner, Matt Gilman, Robert Gilman, Michael Garlisi, Tony Mendola, Steve Gilman, Jose Ramon Davila, Jered Watford, Terry Kimbel
Men's 8.5 Division Champion: Leon County (Forestmeadows Park and Athletic Center, Tallahassee)
Final: Leon County d. Pinellas County 2-1
Team Roster: Iain Harnden (captain), Michael Fang, Ricky Herring, Travis Sykes, Warren Weathington, Robert Lumsden, Daniel Robinson, Kenneth Seymore
For more information on USTA Florida leagues CLICK HERE.