Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

Preview: Florida Gators, Miami Seeds at 2014 NCAA Div. I Tennis Chps.

April 30, 2014 10:35 AM
NCAA_Tennis_LogoThe field for the 2014 NCAA Division I Tennis Team Championships was announced Tuesday, with the Florida Gators' men's and women's teams and the Miami women's team among the seeds.

Each of the 16 men's and 16 women's seeded teams act as host sites for the first and second rounds on May 9-10 before the winning team from each of the 16 regionals then advance to Athens, Georgia for the NCAA Round of 16 and beyond.

The Florida women are the No. 8 seeds and will open against South Carolina State in Gainesville, with the winner of South Florida vs. Oklamoha State looming in the second round.

UF has been a first-round host and Top 16 seed every year since the NCAA Women's Championships expanded its field to 64 teams in 1999. The Gator women have won six NCAA team titles in 1992, 1996, 1998, 2003, and 2011-12.

"We're delighted to play at home and have another opportunity for our outstanding seniors to play in front of their home fans," said UF women's coach Roland Thornqvist. "It's a very challenging group with two conference champions and a runner-up team all coming to Gainesville."

The Miami Hurricanes women will be hosting NCAA Regionals at the Neil Schiff Tennis Center for the 10th consecutive year.

The No. 12-seeded Hurricanes open against Boston University, with the Oklahoma vs. Wichita State winner looming in the second round. Miami women's head coach Paige Yaroshuk-Tews has now reached the NCAA tournament in each of her 13 seasons at the helm of the program in Coral Gables, and has led the Hurricanes to the Sweet 16 round for eight consecutive years. Miami is the only program in the country to have advanced to the Elite 8 round in each of the last five seasons.

The Florida State women are also competing, starting against Arizona in the top-seeded Georgia region.

On the men's side the Florida Gators received the No. 14 seed and open against Big East champion St. John's in Gainesville, with the Florida State vs. South Florida winner looming in the second round.

The Florida men have been selected to host first-round matches as a Top 16 seed in 12 of the last 15 years since the NCAA Men's Championships expanded its field to 64 teams in 1999. The Florida men, last year upset in the first round, have reached the NCAA tournament for 23 consecutive years dating to 1991.

"We're very excited to have the opportunity to host again," said UF men's head coach Bryan Shelton. "Our guys worked hard all season to create this opportunity and I'm happy that our fans here will have the chance to see us play again at home this season. We know too well, after last year losing to Denver in the first round, we know we can't overlook anyone."

For more info or to see the men's or women's draws in full go to:
Men: http://www.ncaa.com/sports/tennis-men
Women: http://www.ncaa.com/sports/tennis-women





Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share