Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

Tennis Teaching Pros Recognized at 2014 USPTA Florida Division Awards

June 19, 2014 12:09 PM
Division Professional of the Year Trish Faulkner
The United States Professional Tennis Association (USPTA) Florida Division presented its 2014 awards on May 31 at the joint USPTA Florida/USTA Florida Semi-Annual Meetings, held at the Club Med-Sandpiper resort in Port St. Lucie, Fla.

Alex Hermeto of the Gateway Golf & Country Club in Ft. Myers received both the District Professional of the Year award for District 14 Lee County, and the District President of the Year award.

"It's an unwritten rule that presidents don't get the Pro of the Year award," Hermeto told the Ft. Myers News-Press. "The local pros went above my head and voted. When it comes to peers, it means a lot to me. It was very nice coming from them."

Division Professional of the Year went to Trish Faulkner of BallenIsles Country Club in Palm Beach Gardens.

"This is a highly deserved recognition for Trish who is not only tireless in her commitment to teaching the sport but has always added tremendous value to the strength of the tennis program at BallenIsles," said BallenIsles General Manager Derrick Barnett said.

The USTA Florida/USPTA Florida Division Service Award was presented by USTA Florida Executive Director Doug Booth and President Bob Pfaender to Rich Walker of Hammock Dunes Club in Palm Coast.

The featured speakers for the event were USPTA President John Embree and USTA Director of Community Tennis Kurt Kamperman, who gave updates on the current state of tennis within the organizations and answered questions from the audience.

Here are the 2014 award winners:

Division Professional of the Year -- Trish Faulkner, BallenIsles Country Club, Palm Beach Gardens
Touring Coach of the Year -- Robert Gomez, Biltmore and Salvadore Park Tennis Centers, Coral Gables
High School Coach of the Year -- Michael Edge, Booker T. Washington High School, Pensacola
Division Tester of the Year -- Ben Rakusin, Ft. Lauderdale
Facility Manager of the Year -- Larry Savvides, Mizner Country Club, West Palm Beach

USTA/USPTA Florida Service Award -- Rich Walker, Hammock Dunes Club, Palm Coast

District Professionals of the Year:      
District 1 Panhandle -- Bryce Cunningham, Bluewater Bay Tennis Center, Niceville
District 3 Jacksonville -- Josh Vissman, Eagle Harbor Country Club, Fleming Island        
District 4 Central Florida -- Alex Bose, Bose Tennis, Winter Haven
District 6 Daytona -- Dave Brown, Plantation Bay Golf & Country Club, Ormond Beach
District 7A Tampa -- Kevin Brundle, Tampa Tennis at HCC, Tampa
District 8 Sarasota -- Greg High, Palm Aire Country Club, Sarasota
District 9 Vero Beach -- Mikael Pernfors, AdOutLLC, Vero Beach
District 11 Boca Raton -- Jeremy Hakala, Woodfield Country Club, Boca Raton
District 12 Naples -- Shawn Hedrick, The Club at The Strand, Naples
District 13 Miami -- Kevin Chow, The Crossings Country Club, Miami
District 14 Lee County -- Alex Hermeto, Gateway Golf & Country Club, Ft. Myers
District 15 Melbourne -- Maria Hurt, Satellite Beach
District 19 The Keys -- Chris Bull, Wonderlin Tennis, Marathon

District President of the Year -- Alex Hermeto, Gateway Golf & Country Club, Ft. Myers

District of the Year -- District 12 Naples

Division Players of the Year:
Men's Open -- Paulo Barros, Winter Garden
Women's Open -- Suzanne Siegler, Boca Raton
Men's 35 -- Milos Vasovic, Satellite Beach
Women's 35 -- Susie Brown, Delray Beach
Men's 45 -- Mario Tabares, Miami
Women's 45 -- Carolyn Franca, Tampa
Men's 50 -- Greg Neuhart, Loxahatchee
Men's 60 -- Mike Barnes, Ft. Myers

For more information or award photos, contact Pat Anderson at usptafl@aol.com.






Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share