Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

Tennis Briefs: UF, UCF Split Club Crowns; Florida Flavor for Master'U

November 23, 2010 09:17 AM
From left to right: the UF runner-up men and the UCF champions
From left to right: the UF women's champions and the UCF runners-up
UF, UCF Win Club Titles at 'Tennis on Campus' Knightro Cup in Orlando

The University of Central Florida defeated the University of Florida for the men's title, while UF turned the tables to defeat UCF for the women's title over the weekend at the Knightro Cup, held Nov. 20-21, 2010, at the University of Central Florida in Orlando. The event is part of the 2010-11 USTA Florida 'Tennis on Campus' series of tournaments for college and university club teams.

"Knightro Cup 2010 ran very smoothly and was a great success," said UCF Club Tennis President Ryan Chabot. "My club and I really enjoyed hosting the seven other schools that came to compete, and everyone played very well."

In the men's final UCF defeated UF 27-14 after a total of four singles and one doubles match. In singles the results were Manas Rane (UCF) d. Kenny Palmer (UF) 5-1; Daniel Mattos (UCF) d. Yuri Pompeu (UF) 5-1; Kenny Palmer (UF) d. Daniel Mattos (UCF) 5-3; and Yuri Pompeu (UF) d. Manas Rane (UCF) 5-2. In the doubles Minar Rane/Chris Le (UCF) d. Shane Vaughan/Phil Richter (UCF) 6-1, 6-1.

The UF women also captured their title by a wide margin, defeating UCF 31-16. In singles the results were Jodi Kleiner (UF) d. Sarah Gaynor (UCF) 5-2; Brooke Allen (UF) d. Erin McCardle (UCF) 5-4; Jodi Kleiner (UF) d. Erin McCardle (UCF) 5-1; and Sarah Gaynor (UCF) d. Brooke Allen (UF) 5-4. In the doubles Allie Symulevich/Abby Lindsley (UF) d. Katie Reinders/Samantha Seto (UCF) 6-2, 6-2.

The result was the same as at the UF Gatorbowl in Gainesville in October, when the UCF men and UF women also took home titles. Also participating at the Knightro Cup were Florida State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Florida Institute of Technology, University of North Carolina-Wilmington, Stetson University, and Rollins College.

"This was the third tournament in a row that it's been an all-UCF vs. UF final, so it was very interesting to see how the players reacted to playing each other again, after so many chances to learn each others' games," Chabot said. "Overall I was very proud of how the tournament worked out, and look forward to Knightro Cup 2011!"

The next stop on the USTA Florida 'Tennis on Campus' series will be Jan. 29-30, 2011, for the FGCU Championships on the campus of Florida Gulf Coast University in Ft. Myers. On Feb. 27-28, 2011, all Florida schools that choose to participate will contest the Florida Campus Championships in Orlando to determine which school will represent Florida at the USTA Campus Championships.

The 2010-2011 USTA Florida 'Tennis on Campus' calendar:

Sept. 11-12 -- FSU Capital Challenge, Tallahassee (WINNER: UF)
Oct. 2-3 -- UF Gatorbowl, Gainesville (WINNERS: UCF-Men, UF-Women)
Nov. 20-21 -- UCF Knightro Cup, Orlando (WINNERS: UCF-Men, UF-Women)
Jan. 29-30 -- FGCU Championships, Ft. Myers
Feb. 27-28 -- Florida Campus Championship, Orlando
March 5-6 -- UM IBIS Open, Miami

For more information on the USTA Florida 'Tennis on Campus' series, go to http://www.florida.usta.com/College-Tennis-Pages/23473_Tennis_on_Campus/.

masteru bnp paribas college logoFlorida Flavor for U.S. Master'U BNP Paribas College Squad

Florida players will make up half of the U.S. team traveling to France in December to defend their title at the Master'U BNP Paribas. The USTA announced the top American collegians selected to represent the United States in the fifth annual Master'U BNP Paribas, an international collegiate competition held Dec. 9-12, 2010, in Rouen, France. The event features eight teams composed of college and university players from around the world.
The U.S., which defeated France to win the 2009 title, will be competing for the third consecutive year against a field that includes teams from Belgium, China, France, Germany, Great Britain, Ireland and Switzerland. The teams will compete in a best-of-seven format consisting of two men's and two women's singles matches, one men's and one women's doubles match, and one mixed doubles match.
The U.S. men's team will be comprised of Sekou Bangoura (Florida), Reid Carleton (Duke), and Austin Krajicek (Texas A&M via Brandon, Fla.). The women's team is Kristy Frilling (Notre Dame), Maria Sanchez (USC) and Allie Will (Florida).
The team will be coached by Greg Patton, the head coach of the Boise State University men's tennis team, who helped lead the U.S. to the 2009 title, and Mark Guilbeau, the head women's tennis coach at the University of Virginia. Roster spots for the team were selected by a committee of USTA Player Development and coaches and staff from the Intercollegiate Tennis Association.






Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share