Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

USTA Florida Wins Boys' 18, Boys' and Girls' 14, 12 National Team Zonal Chps.

August 4, 2010 09:55 AM
The USTA Florida Boys' 18 national team champions
The USTA Florida 12s team national champions
From left: coach Zach Ganger and
Sportsmanship Award winner Noah Makarome
From left: coach Zach Ganger and
Sportsmanship Award winner Erica Oosterhout
The USTA Florida Section won the Boys' 18, and the boys' and girls' 14, and 12 team titles this week during the USTA Boys National Team Championships.

The Florida Boys' 18 squad pulled off the biggest upset at the USTA Boys 18s National Team Championship at the Atkins Tennis Center in Urbana, Ill., shocking the No. 3-seeded USTA Midwest Section 4-3 in the final, with "Team Florida" led by coach Nick Crowell.

Florida jumped out to a 2-1 lead after the doubles, with the teams of Gonzales Austin/Zachary Katz and Alexander Buzzi/Danny Riggs posting victories. Florida then hung on to win three of the six singles, with Austin, Riggs, and Zack McCourt posting victories. Also competing were Tom Blackwell and Colin Edwards.

"It was one of the greatest upsets ever at the 18s boys' team event, we were seeded No. 5-8 and were not even given a chance," said USTA Florida Competitive Tennis Coordinator Andy Gladstone. "In the semis, the boys upset USTA Southern California 4-3 -- Socal has won the event the last eight of nine years! Florida State University coach Nick Crowell is what coaching is all about -- raising the level of his players and making them believe they can win."

The 14s USTA Zone Team Championships were held at Cary Tennis Park in Cary, NC, where "Team Florida" finished in first place ahead of USTA Middle States. The Florida squad was coached by Bryon Gill, and was comprised of Tate Allwardt, David Crisovan, Stephen Madonia, Tyler Devon Pate, Jake Stefanik, Logan Walker, Mckenzie Barco, Julianna Curtis, Mia Horvit, Grace Korta, Gabrielle Rodriguez, and Anisiya Simpson.   
"We really dominated, it was impressive by the Florida team," coach Gill said.
The 12s USTA Zone Team Championships were held at the Tyson Family Tennis Center in Knoxville, Tenn., where they claimed the championship "Team Florida" dominated in the final 16-2, was coached by Zach Ganger, and was comprised of Alexander Del Corral, Noah Makarome, Gabriel Pilones, Jason Legall, Robert Loeb, Davey Roberts, Alyssa Pujals, Megan Horn, Erica Oosterhout, Danielle Peele, Stephanie Taylor, and Julia Gabay.

The Boys' 12 team went undefeated during the tournament, and Makarome received the Sportsmanship Award, while the Florida Girls' 12's Erica Oosterhout received the girls' Sportsmanship Award.

More results to come, as zonal championships are still being contested across the country.






Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share